April Camp NaNoWriMo Novel

And here it is again! A lot has happened this year, so it’s kind of strange to think that April Camp NaNo is back again! I have very fond memories of the last one, and I am more or less hopeful for the novel I wrote last year- except it needs massive editing- up until we found out my Dad had lost his job. Now that novel seems strangely ironic, sense a part of the storyline is about the end of the world and trying to avoid it- and that’s what most of this last year has felt like.

But that’s a different story- literally. Now, as of about a week, my Dad has a job and life is- what it always is: exciting. So, last year my novel was strangely ironic in being about the end of the world- when a part of our world seemed to end. And this year my novel is about hope after the end of something wonderful, ironically similar to our situation now. It’s totally accidental- well, okay, it’s technically a stretch to say either novels are similar to my life, but it’s kind of interpretation.

I wasn’t sure what to write for Camp NaNo, especially sense I’m used to being able to at least think about it a month before it happens, and prepare for it fully. I normally have a playlist ready, my page up, a synopsis written, a few characters (especially the main character) figured out, maybe some scenes practically written, etc. But not this time. I practically don’t have anything, I only just figured out my main character’s name, I do have some inspirational photos and I’ll hopefully work on a playlist (a very important part) tomorrow.

But I am doing Camp NaNo! And, fortunately, I know what I want. I figured out what I wanted to write based on my life a couple of weeks ago, but I think it should still apply. I want something I will enjoy writing! Something that’s fun and will be challenge, of a different kind than I usually try. I am going to write a fairytale- and that’s about as much as I can say.

Well, okay, I can tell you my story is set in beautiful mountains and forests with a lost kingdom and wandering people and a big hill and a magical room. My main character’s name is Ion, a boy of 12 at the most. I suddenly realized that I’ve never written a story (of much consequence) with a child as a main character, so I’m going to give it a try, and this is one of my challenges, as well as the fantasy setting rather than my usual science-fiction. My story is titled Ion’s Way which refers to a passage of land that Ion’s family inherited

As to how much fantasy it is: no unicorns or wizards, though possibly the suggestion of fairies. Certainly, the world will be a little more fantastic and unlike anything that could have technically existed. (here I must apologize to my sister. She’s complained of many medieval stories existing in a world without the church history, which is quite inaccurate. Well, I’m not the person to do it! That would mean much more research, which I wouldn’t mind but can’t manage now. So, the world will have to do with a bit more of the fantastic)

Most importantly, in preparation for my story, I am reading lots of the best fantasy. E Nesbitt, Magarey Allingham, various wonderful poems (mostly Robert Louis Stevenson) and George MacDonald. So far it’s wonderful, but we’ll see if I manage to make it through the month without bringing in someone that’s time traveling!

Much luck to all my fellow Campers! I’d love to hear what everyone is going to write!

Leave a Reply

