777 Challenge and Life

Life has been crazy lately. Okay, I think I’ve probably said that- or thought about starting a blog post that way- several times before. I guess it’s my overly-apologetic nature coming through and I’m pretending it’s not coming through- because it’s not a good idea to be overly-apologetic. Also, life being crazy is such a good excuse for the fact that I haven’t posted here, nor have I written much pretty much since November. And, of course, saying life is crazy is such a good excuse- no, an explanation- for what happens to your plans.

I remember clearly thinking I might get something published and going full throttle into my writing career. Well, I am not going to give up my plans for writing, but I can’t go full throttle at the moment- the moment being a few months. And actually it humiliates me to have to admit it, because I thought I might get somewhere, but I’ve come to realize I can’t go full throttle until I know what I’m doing.

However, as I’ve said, I’m going to keep writing- the best thing I can do- in between sewing and trying to sell on Etsy. So far I haven’t been able to do much, or really divide my mind to be able to write and sew, publish and sell at the same time. However, today I received an e-mail from a fellow writer (here’s a link to her blog: http://lynettenoni.com/) that kind of helped remind me of the happy writer life’s existence.

Apparently there’s a challenge going around to go to the 7th page of your current story, find the 7th line and post the next 7 lines in a blog post, as well as share this challenge with 7 other bloggers (which will be interesting because I’m so horrible at any kind of socializing). I don’t have a work-in-progress technically (okay, I guess I haven’t edited it yet) but I will share it here and I hope it makes sense:

“Team,” Jeremy muttered stupidly, “No, I’m not on any kind of team. I came here to see if you’d headed out. There’s a way out we know of that’s pretty secretive. I think we’d be able to get away safely.”

The man glanced Mark and Fanny’s way, evidently still confused by Jeremy’s appearance, but there was a relieved look on his face. He carefully edged to the door and asked, “Is it quick? Is it close to here?”

Apparently taking that as an indication that the man would take his suggestion, Jeremy simply nodded- now fully appreciating the need for silence and speed- turned and left.

Leave a Reply

