A Little Bit of Relevancy

I’m a writer and what I write about (properly write, not just blog posts) is generally not relevant. Hopefully some of what I write will not be so irrelevant that it’s useless, but basically: it’s fiction. I like fiction. But that’s beside the point. This post will be relevant to something that’s happening right now, and it’s just possible I won’t publish this- it depends on if I like it by the time I’m done.

Anyway, about the relevancy of it: I like to stay away from subjects that are current; politics and outrageous celebrities and such things, because it can get messy. It is amazing how unsettled and shifting our world can be and such topics are always changing so I like to stick to things that are less likely to change. But this subject, as it so happens, has an interesting connection to one of my stories and I thought I may as well talk about it: the movie The Interview and the Sony hack.

Most likely you know all about it: the movie’s subject matter, how Sony was hacked, threats were made against theaters that showed the movie, Sony decided against its release and then, basically the movie’s been released. Of course there are all sorts of questions raised: was Sony right in withdrawing it? Were they right to let it be released in the end? And there are lots of problems behind both those questions.

And here’s what I think: basically, I respect Sony for their original decision to not release the movie, but I think it is right that it should be released, simply in defiance of the threats against the theaters. I should probably start by repeating something someone else said in regard to Sony being called cowards and that is: “You wouldn’t think they were cowards if something did happen…”

That leads to the reason why I respect Sony for their decision, and how this whole thing makes any connection to my Civil War trilogy, in a surprising way. In my trilogy, one of the points I make is: If you know something bad is going to happen, something that will put someone in danger, you have the right- even duty- to try to stop it. And that is what Sony did.

If they hadn’t done anything I at least would have disliked them a little for putting a lot of people at risk, simply for entertainment and profit, and that would especially be the case if something had happened. But they decided to try to stop something bad from happening, something which they had control over, so I have to respect them for that.

However, there’s the simple fact that no one should be able to say what someone says or does or thinks to anyone, not when it’s life threatening. It’s that simple, so I think it’s a good thing the movie was released after all, simply on those grounds.

And then there’s another interesting question for me: would I have gone to see The Interview? Because it’s just not my type of movie. There was never any possibility of my seeing it, but if there had been any possibility- would I go see it, even with the danger involved? I don’t know the answer because it won’t happen, but I think I would’ve gone to see it, for the reasons I’ve already stated.

And that’s that.

Leave a Reply

