Writer’s Block

We’ve all heard of it. Writer’s block. The dreaded point that every writer comes to some time, when you just can’t figure out what to write. Which is why this probably won’t be a very long post.

A lot of people think that writer’s block is when you don’t know what to write next, and that’s often the case. But I think writer’s block is just whenever you simply can’t write. Sometimes I know what’s going to happen next in a story but there’s something about it that I just can’t go ahead and write.

I am dealing with WB right now- literally. I know I ought to write a post on my blog- but I don’t know what to write. So I decided to take the way out of the problem that I do some times when I realize I’ve written myself into a corner. I climb over the wall- either that or I just sit down and make myself comfortable, which I think would be more accurate a metaphor to my way out of a corner.

Anyway, I realized- or accepted- that this is a kind of writer’s block, in that I can’t figure out what to write here, even though I know I need to write something, and I decided to write about writer’s block. After all, it is a problem every writer has to face, so I may as well talk about it at some point.

So how do I deal with WB? Unfortunately I don’t think there is any one solution that works every time, especially for just anyone. My solution is usually to keep writing, even if I don’t know what’s going to happen next- as I am doing now- and eventually enough comes out so I can just keep going. It’s surprising how often this solution works, actually, so I would recommend it. It’s not always comfortable and some times it’s too annoying to push words out onto a page, but at least something happens.

Now, the only problem with this solution is that it’s temporary. I still have to get myself out of the corner. But I’ve got done what I needed to get done- I posted something. And I think I know what’s causing my WB!

I’ve been writing stories for a while. I like to write stories, and only recently have I taken writing seriously as a career. In fact, I’m still trying to figure out how to do that. And one of the things I want to do here is post parts of my stories. But the idea of actually putting my stories up where anyone can read it is weird and scary.

So, yeah, my Writer’s Block is my own fear, which is basically all that WB is- yourself, making up some sort of problem. But I’m going to get past this WB and I’ll post something from one of my stories up here. I will find something! I will get out of the corner!

Leave a Reply

